college draft banner

The 2020 NWSL College Draft took place on Thursday, January 16, at 11 a.m. ET at the Baltimore Convention Center.


In order to be eligible for the 2020 NWSL College Draft, a player must:

• Be a player who will forego any remaining college eligibility or must have exhausted their eligibility during the 2019-2020 academic year, and
• Be at least 18-years-old during the College Protected Period (which ends with the End of Season Process for the 2020 season), and
• Register for the draft with the NWSL by the deadline at 4 pm ET on Wednesday, January 15, 2020.

Players who register but are not selected during the 2020 NWSL College Draft will qualify to be acquired as a Discovery Player during the 2020 season. Players who do not register will not be eligible to be on the roster of any NWSL team until the conclusion of the 2020 NWSL season. We encourage all players who might want any opportunity to play in the NWSL in 2020, to register.

For the final list of eligible players, visit:


1 Portland Thorns FC – Sophia Smith, Stanford University
2 Portland Thorns FC – Morgan Weaver, Washington State University
3 Orlando Pride – Taylor Kornieck, University of Colorado, Boulder
4 Washington Spirit – Ashley Sanchez, UCLA
5 Sky Blue FC – Evelyne Viens, University of South Florida
6 North Carolina Courage – Alleandra Watt, Texas A&M University
7 Orlando Pride – Courtney Peterson, University of Virginia
8 Utah Royals FC – Tziarra King, North Carolina State University
9 Reign FC – Kelcie Hedge, Santa Clara University
10 Orlando Pride – Konya Plummer, University of Central Florida
11 Sky Blue FC – Kaleigh Riehl, Pennsylvania State University
12 Utah Royals FC – Kate Del Fava, Illinois State University
13 Washington Spirit – Natalie Jacobs, University of Southern California
14 Orlando Pride – Phoebe McClernon, University of Virginia
15 Chicago Red Stars – Julia Bingham, University of Southern California
16 Chicago Red Stars – Camryn Biegalski, University of Wisconsin, Madison
17 Washington Spirit – Averie Collins, Washington State University
18 Houston Dash – Bridgette Andrzejewski, University of North Carolina

19 Chicago Red Stars – Zoe Morse, University of Virginia
20 Sky Blue FC – Amanda McGlynn, Virginia Tech
21 Orlando Pride – Cheyenne Shorts, University of Denver
22 Houston Dash – Chloe Castaneda, University of California, Los Angeles
23 Washington Spirit – Katie McClure, University of Kansas
24 Chicago Red Stars – Ella Stevens, Duke University
25 Portland Thorns FC – Meaghan Nally, Georgetown University
26 Orlando Pride – Abi Kim, University of California, Berkeley
27 North Carolina Courage – Sinclaire Miramontez, University of Nebraska
28 North Carolina Courage – Addisyn Merrick, University of Kansas
29 Sky Blue FC – Chantelle Swaby, Rutgers University
30 Orlando Pride – Chelsee Washington, Bowling Green State University
31 Utah Royals FC – Cyera Hintzen, University of Texas, Austin
32 Washington Spirit – Kaiya McCullough, UCLA
33 Reign FC – Samantha Hiatt, Stanford University
34 Reign FC – Meg Brandt, University of Nebraska
35 Chicago Red Stars – Aerial Chavarin, Yale University
36 North Carolina Courage – Brianne Folds, Auburn University

For the complete details on the 2020 NWSL Draft, click here.


Take a look back at all of the selections from the past NWSL College Drafts to see who your club selected each year.

Click below for the complete list:

access all the action

Keep up to date on the latest scores, video highlights, match-ups, stats, standings and news from the NWSL. Find out where to watch every NWSL game and watch full games on demand.

Download the NWSL app now.

official nwsl sponsors
budweiser logo
CBS logo
Google logo
nike logo
P&G logo
secret logo
thorne logo
twitch logo
verizon logo