2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup Draw: Complete results
The 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup begins June 7
2019 FIFA Women's World Cup Draw (Photo credit: Maya Vidon-White/isiphotos.com)
2019 FIFA Women's World Cup Draw (Photo credit: Maya Vidon-White/isiphotos.com)

The draw is complete and the groups are set for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup in France, which begins on June 7 with France hosting Korea Republic at Parc des Princes in Paris. The draw was conducted on Saturday at Le Seine Musicale in Boulogne-Billancourt, France.

France, United States, Germany, England, Canada, Australia were the seeded teams in the draw in Pot 1, and sorted into Groups A through F.

The United States, defending champion and world No. 1, was drawn into Group F, along with Thailand, Chile and Sweden. It’s the fifth straight time the United States will meet Sweden in the group stage and is a rematch of the 2016 Olympic quarterfinal, won by Sweden.

Portland Thorns FC and United States midfielder Tobin Heath appeared on Fox Sports’ coverage of the draw to react to the matchups. “Obviously Sweden, there,” she said, when asked what stands out to her about the United States’ group. “Especially after the last Olympics. But it’s an interesting group for us. I think it’s a different kind of group than we’ve faced in the past.”

Canada was drawn into Group E, along with Cameroon, New Zealand and the 2017 European champion Netherlands.

Australia is in Group C with Italy, Brazil, Jamaica. Australia vs. Brazil will be a rematch of the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup Round of 16 game, won by Australia, and the 2016 Olympic quarterfinal, won by Brazil.

England was drawn into Group D with Scotland, Argentina and Japan. England vs. Japan will be a rematch of the 2015 Women’s World Cup semifinal, won by Japan on a late England own goal. Group D has an average world ranking of 17, the highest of all the groups.

France is joined in Group A by Korea Republic, Norway and Nigeria. Germany is in Group B with China PR, Spain and South Africa.

Read More: 6 games to watch at the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup

The full schedule for the tournament is available on FIFA.com: Group Stage | Knockout Rounds

2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup Groups

Group A: France, Korea Republic, Norway, Nigeria

Group B: Germany, China PR, Spain, South Africa

Group C: Australia, Italy, Brazil, Jamaica

Group D: England, Scotland, Argentina, Japan

Group E: Canada, Cameroon, New Zealand, Netherlands

Group F: United States, Thailand, Chile, Sweden

  • Seven teams have qualified for every Women’s World Cup: Brazil, Germany, Japan, Nigeria, Norway, Sweden, United States
  • Four teams are making their Women’s World Cup debuts: Chile, Jamaica, Scotland, South Africa
  • FIFA’s latest women’s world rankings

The United States will face Sweden in the final Group F game on June 20. Sweden knocked the United States out of the 2016 Olympics in penalty kicks in the quarterfinals.

“Immediately when they got put in our group, it was the memories of 2016 coming back and just knowing that we need to get a little bit of redemption,” U.S. and Utah Royals FC defender Kelley O’Hara said on Major League Soccer’s live Twitter stream ahead of the 2018 MLS Cup in Atlanta on Saturday night.

official nwsl sponsors
budweiser logo
CBS logo
nike logo
twitch logo
verizon logo