Brazil names roster for Women’s World Cup qualifying tournament
The tournament runs from April 4-22
Andressinha in action for Brazil at the 2017 Tournament of Nations. (Photo credit: Brad Smith/
Andressinha in action for Brazil at the 2017 Tournament of Nations. (Photo credit: Brad Smith/

Six NWSL players have been named to Brazil’s roster for the Copa América Femenina in Chile in April, which serves as CONMEBOL’s qualifying tournament for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup. Twenty-two players overall were named to the roster by head coach Vadão for the tournament, which runs from April 4-22.

Three members of the Orlando Pride are on the squad in Marta, Poliana and Monica. They are joined by Portland Thorns FC midfielder Andressinha, Sky Blue FC midfielder Thaisa and North Carolina Courage midfielder Debinha.

Brazil will face Argentina (April 5), Ecuador (April 7), Venezuela (April 11) and Bolivia (April 13) in the first stage of the tournament. The final stage will run from April 16-22. (Full schedule) The top two teams automatically qualify the Women’s World Cup and the third place team will take part in a play-off with Concacaf.

Brazil is one of seven teams to have participated in every Women’s World Cup since the tournament began in 1991 (alongside the United States, Germany, Japan, Norway, Nigeria and Sweden). Their highest finish came in 2007, when they lost in the final to Germany. Marta won the Golden Ball that same year, awarded to the tournament’s best player. Marta is also the all-time leading scorer in Women’s World Cup history with 15 goals.


Brazil Women’s National Team Roster by Position

GOALKEEPERS: Bárbara (Kindermann), Aline, Letícia Izidoro (Corinthians)

DEFENDERS: Rilany (Grindavik), Poliana (Orlando Pride), Tamires (Fortuna Hjørring), Monica (Orlando Pride), Rafaelle (Changchun Zhuoyue), Erika (Paris Saint-Germain), Daiane (Avaldsnes)

MIDFIELDERS: Andressinha (Portland Thorns FC), Formiga (Paris Saint-Germain), Andressa Alves (Barcelona), Thaisa (Sky Blue FC),  Aline Milene (Baylor University)

FORWARDS: Millene Karine (Corinthians), Raquel (Ferroviária), Thaís (Incheon Hyundai Steel Red Angels WFC), Bia Zaneratto (Incheon Hyundai Steel Red Angels WFC), Marta (Orlando Pride), Cristiane (Changchun Zhuoyue), Debinha (North Carolina Courage)

official nwsl sponsors
ally logo
budweiser logo
CBS logo
nationwide logo
nike logo
secret logo
twitch logo
verizon logo