Brazil qualifies for 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup
Brazil has qualified for every FIFA Women's World Cup
Brazil in action at the 2017 Tournament of Nations. (Photo credit: Brad Smith/
Brazil in action at the 2017 Tournament of Nations. (Photo credit: Brad Smith/

Following Thursday’s results in the final stage of the Copa América Femenina in Chile, Brazil has qualified for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup. In the second game of the final stage of the tournament, Brazil got a 3-0 win over Argentina and then earned the spot in France after a 0-0 draw between Colombia and Chile.

Six NWSL players represented Brazil at the tournament. Three members of the Orlando Pride: Marta, Poliana and Monica, as well as Portland Thorns FC midfielder Andressinha, Sky Blue FC midfielder Thaisa and North Carolina Courage midfielder Debinha.

In the 3-0 win over Argentina, Debinha scored the game’s final goal and Marta assisted on the first one, to Cristiane.

Argentina, Colombia and Chile are still in contention for the second automatic qualification spot for next year’s Women’s World Cup. Also, the third place finisher will head to a play-off with Concacaf. The final games of the tournament will take place on Sunday.

Brazil joins Japan as one of two teams to have qualified for every Women’s World Cup since the tournament began in 1991. Germany, Nigeria, Norway, Sweden and the United States can join them later this year. Brazil’s highest finish came in 2007, when they lost in the final to Germany. Marta won the Golden Ball that same year, awarded to the tournament’s best player. Marta is also the all-time leading scorer in Women’s World Cup history with 15 goals.

Seven teams have qualified for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup so far: Australia, Brazil, China PR, France (host nation), Japan, Korea Republic and Thailand.


official nwsl sponsors
ally logo
budweiser logo
CBS logo
nationwide logo
nike logo
secret logo
twitch logo
verizon logo