Chile qualifies for Women’s World Cup
It will be Chile's first FIFA Women's World Cup appearance
Washington Spirit midfielder Yanara Aedo. (Photo credit: Tony Quinn)
Washington Spirit midfielder Yanara Aedo. (Photo credit: Tony Quinn)

Chile qualified for their first Women’s World Cup on Sunday, with a 4-0 win over Argentina in their final game of the Copa América Femenina.

Washington Spirit midfielder Yanara Aedo represented Chile at the tournament, scoring three times in the first stage of the tournament.

Argentina finished third in the tournament, and will have to play the fourth place Concacaf team in a play-off later this year for a spot in next year’s tournament. Spirit midfielder Estefanía Banini played in the tournament for Argentina, scoring twice in the first stage of the tournament, including a direct free kick goal in their opening game.

Brazil finished first in the tournament and also secured a spot in the 2020 Olympics, as well as their ticket to France next summer. Chile will have to take part in a play-off with a CAF opponent for an Olympic spot.

Eight teams have qualified for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup so far: Australia, Brazil, Chile, China PR, France (host nation), Japan, Korea Republic and Thailand.


official nwsl sponsors
budweiser logo
CBS logo
Google logo
nike logo
P&G logo
secret logo
thorne logo
twitch logo
verizon logo