McCaskill’s brace crowns Sydney FC W-League Champions
Sydney FC defeated Perth Glory 4-2 in the W-League Grand Final
Savannah McCaskill finished the Grand Final with two goals in three shots and 89 minutes played. (Photo credit: Howard C. Smith/
Savannah McCaskill finished the Grand Final with two goals in three shots and 89 minutes played. (Photo credit: Howard C. Smith/

Sky Blue FC forward Savannah McCaskill scored a brace on Saturday to lead Sydney FC past Perth Glory 4-2 in the W-League Grand Final.

Houston Dash midfielder Sofia Huerta and new Washington Spirit midfielder Chloe Logarzo chipped in a goal each for the Sky Blues. Sydney FC were crowned the W-League champs for the first time since 2013.

On the other side of the pitch, Perth Glory found the back of the net twice thanks to Chicago Red Stars forwards Sam Kerr and Alyssa Mautz. All six goals in Saturday’s Grand Final came from NWSL players.

Kerr finished the W-League season with 17 goals. Kerr became the first player to ever score three goals in the W-League Finals Series when she scored a hat trick against Melbourne Victory Women in the semifinals. Kerr holds both the W-League (68 goals) and NWSL (59 goals) all-time scoring records.

Huerta opened up the game in the sixth minute when she took a touch with her right foot at the top of the box and then blasted a shot into the right corner to give the Sky Blues a 1-0 lead.

Kerr scored her 17th goal of the season in the 23rd minute to even the game up 1-1.

Sydney FC found a way to get ahead just before the break when Portland Thorns FC forward Caitlin Foord served a ball to the head of McCaskill. McCaskill connected with the service and finished it to make it 2-1 Sydney FC in the 41st minute.

McCaskill finished her second of the day in the 61st minute to extend the Sky Blues lead to 3-1. McCaskill read a lofted header that went over the Perth Glory defense, brought the ball down and finished it far post.

Mautz got Perth Glory to within a goal in the 68th minute with a volley finish, but Logarzo sealed the game up in the 70th minute with an absolute stunner from a distance.

MORE | Spirit acquire Australian internationals Amy Harrison, Chloe Logarzo

Other NWSL players featured in the Grand final were Danielle Colaprico (Chicago Red Stars), Alanna Kennedy (Orlando Pride) and Aubrey Bledsoe (Washington Spirit) representing Sydney FC, and Rachel Hill (Orlando Pride), Nikki Stanton (Chicago Red Stars) and Katie Naughton (Chicago Red Stars) representing Perth Glory.

official nwsl sponsors
budweiser logo
CBS logo
nike logo
thorne logo
twitch logo
verizon logo