New Zealand clinches final spot in the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup
The 24-team field is now set for the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup
Utah Royals FC midfielder Katie Bowen. (Photo credit: Bryan Byerly/
Utah Royals FC midfielder Katie Bowen. (Photo credit: Bryan Byerly/

The field is complete! New Zealand clinched the final spot in next summer’s FIFA Women’s World Cup in France on Saturday with an 8-0 win over Fiji in the final of the 2018 OFC Women’s Nations Cup.

Katie Bowen (Utah Royals FC), Rebekah Stott (Sky Blue FC) and Rosie White (Chicago Red Stars) feature on New Zealand’s roster, and all three started Saturday’s game. White scored the game’s first goal in the first minute and the final goal in the 91st.

Former Pride head coach Tom Sermanni is New Zealand’s new head coach, and this qualifying tournament marked his first games with the team. New Zealand’s win at the OFC Women’s Nations Cup also qualifies them for the 2020 Olympics.

Cameroon earned the second-to-last spot on Friday with a 4-2 win over Mali in the third-place game of the 2018 Africa Women Cup of Nations.

Full list of qualified countries for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, China PR, England, France (host nation), Germany, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Korea Republic, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Thailand and the United States.

The draw for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup will take place on Saturday, December 8, at 11:30 a.m. ET. It will air on FS2, the Fox Sports app, Telemundo, and Universo. The pots for the draw will be finalized when the new world rankings are released on December 7. We’ll have more coverage of the draw next week.


2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup Teams

CAF: Cameroon, Nigeria, South Africa

AFC: Australia, China PR, Japan, Korea Republic, Thailand

UEFA: England, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Scotland, Spain, Sweden

Concacaf: Canada, Jamaica, United States

OFC: New Zealand

CONMEBOL: Argentina, Brazil, Chile

Seven teams have qualified for every Women’s World Cup: Brazil, Germany, Japan, Nigeria, Norway, Sweden, United States

Four teams are making their Women’s World Cup debuts: Chile, Jamaica, Scotland, South Africa

official nwsl sponsors
budweiser logo
CBS logo
nike logo
thorne logo
twitch logo
verizon logo