NWSL announces 2018 allocated players
Thirty-four players will be part of the 2018 season as Federation Players
Houston Dash goalkeeper Jane Campbell (Photo credit: Andy Mead/isiphotos.com)
Houston Dash goalkeeper Jane Campbell (Photo credit: Andy Mead/isiphotos.com)

–Updated to note that Stephanie Labbé cleared the NWSL Distribution Process as of 5 p.m. ET on Thursday

The NWSL announced the list of allocated players from the United States and Canada for the upcoming 2018 season. Overall, 34 players will be participating in this upcoming season as Federation Players: 23 Americans and 11 Canadians.

Six players are newly assigned for this season: from the United States, Jane Campbell (Houston Dash), Abby Dahlkemper (North Carolina Courage), Crystal Dunn (North Carolina Courage) and Taylor Smith (Washington Spirit); and from Canada, Adriana Leon (Sky Blue FC) and Rebecca Quinn (Washington Spirit).

Three formerly allocated players rights will remain with their current clubs: Sydney Leroux (Orlando Pride), Ali Krieger (Orlando Pride) and Meghan Klingenberg (Portland Thorns FC). Morgan Brian joined Olympique Lyon this offseason, but her rights will remain with the Chicago Red Stars.

Also not on this list is Stephanie Labbé, who played for Washington in 2016/17. On Wednesday night, the Spirit announced that they had elected not to retain her rights. Through the NWSL Distribution Process, teams had until 5 p.m. ET on Thursday to submit their interest in acquiring her rights. She was not selected by any of the league’s eight other teams and is now Discovery Eligible within the league.

Allocated players, by team:

*New Federation Player in 2018


Chicago Red Stars

Julie Ertz (USA)

Alyssa Naeher (USA)

Casey Short (USA)

Houston Dash

Jane Campbell (USA)*

Christen Press (USA)

Nichelle Prince (CAN)

North Carolina Courage

Allysha Chapman (CAN)

Sabrina D’Angelo (CAN)

Abby Dahlkemper (USA)*

Crystal Dunn (USA)*

Samantha Mewis (USA)

Lynn Williams (USA)

Orlando Pride

Ashlyn Harris (USA)

Alex Morgan (USA)

Shelina Zadorsky (CAN)

Portland Thorns FC

Tobin Heath (USA)

Lindsey Horan (USA)

Christine Sinclair (CAN)

Emily Sonnett (USA)

Seattle Reign FC

Allie Long (USA)

Megan Rapinoe (USA)

Sky Blue FC

Janine Beckie (CAN)

Adriana Leon (CAN)*

Carli Lloyd (USA)

Kailen Sheridan (CAN)

Utah Royals FC

Diana Matheson (CAN)

Kelley O’Hara (USA)

Amy Rodriguez (USA)

Becky Sauerbrunn (USA)

Desiree Scott (CAN)

Washington Spirit

Rose Lavelle (USA)

Mallory Pugh (USA)

Rebecca Quinn (CAN)*

Taylor Smith (USA)*

official nwsl sponsors
budweiser logo
CBS logo
Google logo
nike logo
P&G logo
secret logo
thorne logo
twitch logo
verizon logo