Rookie of the Year: Imani Dorsey, Sky Blue FC
Dorsey scored four goals and added an assist in 2018
Dorsey finished the season tied for first in scoring on her team (4 goals) with Katie Johnson. (Photo credit: Rob Gray/
Dorsey finished the season tied for first in scoring on her team (4 goals) with Katie Johnson. (Photo credit: Rob Gray/

After joining the NWSL midway through the season, Sky Blue FC forward Imani Dorsey scored four goals in her first professional season and has been voted Rookie of the Year. The award was voted on by club officials, players, media and fans.

Dorsey was selected fifth overall by Sky Blue FC in the 2018 NWSL College Draft out of Duke University. Dorsey didn’t appear for Sky Blue until June 8 because she was finishing her studies at Duke. The 22-year-old went on to appear in 13 matches for Sky Blue and chipped in one assist along with her four goals. In her rookie season she created 11 chances, held a 74.4% passing accuracy in 332 passes, and finished with 16 shots on target.

Her first professional goal came on July 7 at Yurcak Field vs. the Chicago Red Stars. After trailing the Red Stars by three goals, a solid team build up slotted in Dorsey, who slid and finished it off one-time to get her team on the board.

Dorsey scored in back-to-back games for Sky Blue against Portland on July 21 in Week 18 and against Orlando on August 5 in Week 19. Dorsey is the second player from Sky Blue FC to earn Rookie of the Year honors – midfielder Raquel Rodriguez also won in 2016.

Washington Spirit midfielder Andi Sullivan and Sky Blue FC midfielder Savannah McCaskill finished in second and third in the rookie voting this year.

The list of finalists was decided after a preliminary round of voting by owners, general managers, coaches, players and media. The finalists were then voted on by fans, owners, general managers, coaches, players and media.

Voting Breakdown:
Preliminary Round: Owners/GMs/Coaches (25%), Media (25%) and Players (50%)
Final Round: Fans (20%), Owners/GMs/Coaches (20%), Media (20%) and Players (40%)

Dorsey 24.3% 39.2% 55.6% 36.4% 38.4%
Sullivan 42.4% 17.6% 33.3% 31.0% 31.1%
McCaskill 33.3% 43.1% 11.1% 32.6% 30.5%
Full list of NWSL Rookies of the Year

2013: Erika Tymrak, FC Kansas City

2014: Julie Johnston, Chicago Red Stars

2015: Danielle Colaprico, Chicago Red Stars

2016: Raquel Rodriguez, Sky Blue FC

2017: Ashley Hatch, North Carolina Courage

2018: Imani Dorsey, Sky Blue FC

official nwsl sponsors
budweiser logo
CBS logo
Google logo
nike logo
P&G logo
secret logo
thorne logo
twitch logo
verizon logo