Sinclair, Marta nominated for BBC Women’s Footballer of the Year
The NWSL forwards are two of five nominees for the award
(Photo credit:
(Photo credit:

Portland Thorns FC forward Christine Sinclair and Orlando Pride forward Marta have been nominated for the BBC Women’s Footballer of the Year, with voting open until May 15. Vote now.

Canada’s Sinclair and Brazil’s Marta led their countries to a meeting in the bronze medal game of the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro last summer, with Sinclair and Canada winning the bronze medal, and Brazil and Marta finishing fourth.

Sinclair scored six goals for Portland in the NWSL last season, as the Thorns won the 2016 NWSL Shield. Marta finished second for FIFA Best Women’s Player in 2016 and recently joined the Pride after playing with FC Rosengård in Sweden.

They are joined on the list by fellow nominees Melanie Behringer (Germany/Bayern Munich), Ada Hegerberg (Norway/Olympique Lyonnais) and Hedvig Lindahl (Sweden/Chelsea).

Vote and view full profiles on all the nominees at


official nwsl sponsors
nike logo
thorne logo
lifetime logo
budweiser logo