The NWSL guide to the W-League
Over 30 NWSL players will feature in the Australian season

The Westfield W-League has officially kicked off in Australia for its tenth season on Friday with big wins from Perth Glory Women and Brisbane Roar FC, and featured goals from Sam Kerr and Emily Sonnett, plus a brace from the Orlando Pride’s Rachel Hill.

And while even the W-League acknowledges the “Kerr Effect” and boost from the popularity of the Matildas after increased international success and sell-out games on home soil, long-time NWSL fans will know that the W-League’s schedule has always made it an offseason favorite for American players.

Every W-League club has at least one NWSL player on its roster, giving NWSL fans plenty of reasons to follow every match.

About the W-League

The Westfield W-League has nine clubs: Adelaide United, Brisbane Roar, Canberra United, Melbourne City, Melbourne Victory, Newcastle Jets, Perth Glory, Sydney FC and the Western Sydney Wanderers. The regular season lasts 14 rounds, followed by a postseason culminating in a grand final match.

Melbourne City has won the last two grand finals, and five Seattle Reign FC players are returning to City to defend their title, including Jess Fishlock and Lydia Williams.

You can follow the W-League on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

NWSL Players in the W-League

Nine of the 10 clubs in the NWSL are represented on W-League rosters during the offseason. Seattle leads the way with eight players heading to Australia, Portland Thorns FC has five players, and the Chicago Red Stars and Orlando Pride each have four on various W-League clubs.

Here’s the full list of every NWSL player on a W-League roster that’s been announced, by NWSL team.

Boston Breakers:

Natasha Dowie | Melbourne Victory
Amanda Frisbie | Perth Glory
Katie Stengel | Newcastle Jets

Chicago Red Stars:

Danielle Colaprico | Adelaide United
Arin Gilliland | Newcastle Jets
Alyssa Mautz | Adelaide United
Katie Naughton | Adelaide United

FC Kansas City:

Christina Gibbons | Melbourne Victory
Lo’eau Labonta | Western Sydney Wanderers

North Carolina Courage:

Makenzy Doniak | Adelaide United
Ashley Hatch | Melbourne City

Orlando Pride:

Steph Catley | Melbourne City
Rachel Hill | Perth Glory
Alanna Kennedy | Melbourne City
Toni Pressley | Canberra United

Portland Thorns FC:

Celeste Boureille | Brisbane Roar
Britt Eckerstrom | Newcastle Jets
Hayley Raso | Brisbane Roar
Emily Sonnett | Sydney FC
Ashleigh Sykes | Canberra United

Seattle Reign FC:

Lauren Barnes | Melbourne City
Larissa Crummer | Melbourne City
Jessica Fishlock | Melbourne City
Haley Kopmeyer | Canberra United
Kristen McNabb | Melbourne Victory
Carson Pickett | Brisbane Roar
Rebekah Stott | Melbourne City
Lydia Williams | Melbourne City

Sky Blue FC:

Sam Kerr | Perth Glory
Raquel Rodriguez | Perth Glory
Nikki Stanton | Perth Glory

Washington Spirit:

Tori Huster | Newcastle Jets

How to watch

There are two more games on deck for Saturday, between Melbourne Victory and Canberra United, and Newcastle Jets and Western City Wanderers before the first week of the regular season comes to a close. (Note: The W-League website also does international viewers a solid by allowing people to display match times in their own time zone.)

Fans in the U.S. and other countries outside of Australia can stream using OZ Live Sports, a new pay-per-view platform. Fans can either purchase individual game streams for $2.99 each, or subscribe to the platform on a monthly basis for $4.99 per month.

official nwsl sponsors
nike logo
thorne logo
lifetime logo
budweiser logo