The NWSL guide to the W-League
The W-League begins Oct. 25
Reign FC goalkeeper Lydia Williams and Chicago Red Stars forward Sam Kerr return to the W-League this season. (Photo credit:
Reign FC goalkeeper Lydia Williams and Chicago Red Stars forward Sam Kerr return to the W-League this season. (Photo credit:

The Westfield-W League is almost underway in Australia for its 11th season. Over thirty-five NWSL players across all nine NWSL teams have been announced by W-League teams to be playing in Australia this offseason. A few of those player loans are still pending NWSL approval, and those are noted in the full list at the bottom of this post.

On Thursday, Oct. 25, Western Sydney Wanderers vs. Sydney FC will kick the season off, followed by a full weekend of games in Round 1. The regular season includes 14 rounds, followed by the postseason’s semifinals and Grand Final match in February 2019.

Utah Royals FC defender Sydney Miramontez, midfielder Lo’eau LaBonta and Seattle Reign FC midfielder Elizabeth Addo will represent the Western Sydney Wanderers in the opening game. Sydney FC has Washington Spirit goalkeeper Aubrey Bledsoe, Houston Dash midfielder Sofia Huerta, Orlando Pride defender Alanna Kennedy and Thorns FC forward Caitlin Foord. On Thursday, Sydney FC released their roster for the game, and it also includes Chicago Red Stars midfielder Danielle Colaprico. Sky Blue FC also announced on Thursday that Savannah McCaskill will be joining Sydney FC on loan.

As opening weekend continues, Chicago Red Stars forward Yuki Nagasato, Houston Dash defender Clare Polkinghorne, Orlando Pride defender Carson Pickett and forward Chioma Ubogagu, as well as Portland Thorns FC forward Hayley Raso and midfielder Celeste Boureille, will be part of the Brisbane Roar as they face Perth Glory on Saturday night (ET). The Chicago Red Stars have four players on the Perth Glory roster; forward Sam Kerr, defender Katie Naughton, midfielder Alyssa Mautz and midfielder Nikki Stanton. Also playing for Perth Glory this season is Orlando Pride’s Rachel Hill.

The W-League’s first weekend — Round 1 — closes with two games early Sunday morning (ET). First up, Canberra United vs. Melbourne City, followed by Melbourne Victory vs. Adelaide United. The full W-League schedule can be found here — and fans can convert the schedule into their own time zone.

Portland Thorns defender Ellie Carpenter, Utah Royals FC defender Rachel Corsie and North Carolina Courage midfielder Denise O’Sullivan will play for Canberra United this season. For Melbourne City, seven Seattle Reign FC players are on the roster: defenders Steph Catley, Lauren Barnes and Theresa Nielsen, midfielder Elise Kellond-Knight, forwards Jodie Taylor and Jasmyne Spencer, and goalkeeper Lydia Williams. Houston Dash midfielder Kyah Simon will also suit up for them this season. On Thursday, Sky Blue FC announced that Rebekah Stott has signed a one season contract with Melbourne City FC.

Orlando Pride midfielders Christine Nairn and Dani Weatherholt will play for Melbourne Victory along with Utah Royals FC defender Samantha Johnson, and representing Adelaide United are Utah Royals FC midfielder Gunnhildur Jónsdóttir and Houston Dash defender Amber Brooks and forward Veronica Latsko

The Newcastle Jets have a bye in the first week and include Utah Royals FC forward Katie Stengel, Orlando Pride midfielder Emily van Egmond, Washington Spirit defender Taylor Smith and Portland Thorns FC goalkeeper Britt Eckerstrom.

About the W-League

The Westfield W-League has nine clubs: Adelaide United, Brisbane Roar, Canberra United, Melbourne City, Melbourne Victory, Newcastle Jets, Perth Glory, Sydney FC and the Western Sydney Wanderers. The regular season includes 14 rounds, followed by the postseason’s semifinals and Grand Final match in February 2019.

Melbourne City has won the last three Grand Finals. Last year, Sam Kerwon her second-straight Golden Boot. She and Clare Polkinghorne both won the Julie Dolan Medal, awarded to the league’s most valuable player.

Seventeen W-League games will broadcast on ESPN+ this year, ESPN’s subscription service. More info can be found here and here. Additional info on how fans in Australia can watch the W-League can be found here.

You can follow the W-League on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

NWSL Players in the W-League

Below is a list of every NWSL player who has been announced by W-League teams to be joining their squads this season. Players whose loans are still pending NWSL approval are noted with an asterisk.

As more players are announced, this list will be updated.


Chicago Red Stars

Danielle Colaprico | Sydney FC *

Sam Kerr | Perth Glory

Alyssa Mautz | Perth Glory *

Yuki Nagasato | Brisbane Roar *

Katie Naughton | Perth Glory

Nikki Stanton | Perth Glory


Houston Dash

Amber Brooks | Adelaide United

Sofia Huerta | Sydney FC

Veronica Latsko| Adelaide United

Clare Polkinghorne | Brisbane Roar

Kyah Simon | Melbourne City


North Carolina Courage

Denise O’Sullivan | Canberra United


Orlando Pride

Rachel Hill | Perth Glory

Alanna Kennedy | Sydney FC

Christine Nairn | Melbourne Victory

Carson Pickett | Brisbane Roar FC

Chioma Ubogagu | Brisbane Roar FC

Emily van Egmond | Newcastle Jets FC

Dani Weatherholt | Melbourne Victory


Portland Thorns FC

Celeste Boureille | Brisbane Roar FC

Ellie Carpenter | Canberra United

Britt Eckerstrom | Newcastle Jets

Caitlin Foord | Sydney FC

Hayley Raso | Brisbane Roar


Seattle Reign FC

Elizabeth Addo | Western Sydney Wanderers

Lauren Barnes | Melbourne City FC

Steph Catley | Melbourne City FC

Elise Kellond-Knight | Melbourne City FC

Theresa Nielsen | Melbourne City FC

Jasmyne Spencer | Melbourne City FC

Jodie Taylor | Melbourne City FC

Lydia Williams | Melbourne City FC


Sky Blue FC

Savannah McCaskill | Sydney FC

Rebekah Stott | Melbourne City FC


Utah Royals FC

Rachel Corsie | Canberra United

Samantha Johnson | Melbourne Victory

Gunnhildur Jónsdóttir | Adelaide United

Lo’eau LaBonta | Western Sydney Wanderers

Sydney Miramontez | Western Sydney Wanderers

Katie Stengel | Newcastle Jets


Washington Spirit

Aubrey Bledsoe | Sydney FC

Taylor Smith | Newcastle Jets


* = Pending NWSL approval

official nwsl sponsors
nike logo
thorne logo
lifetime logo
budweiser logo