U.S. wins Concacaf Women’s Championship with 2-0 win over Canada
The U.S. finished the tournament with five wins, 26 goals for, 0 goals against
The United States won all five games at the Concacaf Women's Championship. (Photo credit: Brad Smith/isiphotos.com)
The United States won all five games at the Concacaf Women's Championship. (Photo credit: Brad Smith/isiphotos.com)

The United States beat Canada 2-0 to win the Concacaf Women’s Championship on a rainy night at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas. The United States scored in the first two minutes of the game, and then in the final two minutes of the game to pick up the win. The U.S. finished the tournament with a 5-0 record, 26 goals scored and 0 goals conceded.

Red Stars midfielder Julie Ertz won the Golden Ball, awarded to the best player of the tournament. The United States won the Fair Play Award.

Washington Spirit midfielder Rose Lavelle scored her sixth international goal, and her third goal of this tournament, in the 2nd minute. After an attempted clearance by Pride defender Shelina Zadorsky for Canada, the ball went to Lavelle, who sent a left-footed shot into the bottom right corner to put the U.S. up 1-0.

Morgan sealed the win in the 89th minute with a left-footed tap in after a cross from Portland Thorns FC midfielder Lindsey Horan. After an initial clearance by Canada, Courage midfielder Crystal Dunn found Horan out wide to restart the play. Replays showed Morgan was offside on the goal, but it was not called and the goal stood.

The goal clinched the Concacaf Women’s Championship Golden Boot for Morgan, who finished the tournament with seven goals. It’s her 97th international goal and her 17th of 2018. She has 24 goals in her last 24 games.

“It’s not without my teammates. I mean honestly, the service is just incredible,” Morgan said in a postgame interview with Fox Sports’ Alex Curry on FS1. “So many players had an amazing tournament.”

As expected, it was a physical match between the two sides, with Canada picking up four yellow cards, and the United States picking up one.

“It’s another title. That’s what we’re all about. We want to win. Obviously, we hate Canada. They hate us. That was very apparent on the field today,” Reign forward Megan Rapinoe told Curry. “It was a good performance for us. Really just all tournament. I feel like we took it up another notch.”

Both teams created chances, but couldn’t find the back of the net in between the Lavelle and Morgan goals.

Canada’s Kadeisha Buchanan had a chance in the 24th minute, but Red Stars goalkeeper Alyssa Naeher pushed the header out for a corner kick.

Zadorsky blocked a shot from her Pride teammate Morgan in the 59th minute, after Stephanie Labbé came off her line on a Morgan breakaway. Labbe was forced to make a diving save on a left-footed shot from distance by Rapinoe.

Dunn played a pass to Morgan in the box in the 80th minute, but Morgan’s shot trickled just wide at the far post.

It’s the 26th consecutive game without a loss for the United States. They’ve gone 23-0-3 in those games. They are now 49-3-7 all-time vs. Canada.

Canada finished the tournament with 24 goals scored and three goals conceded.

Panama 2 | Jamaica 2 | Jamaica wins 2-4 in penalties

Earlier Wednesday, Jamaica topped Panama in penalty kicks to advance to their first-ever World Cup. Panama will face Argentina in a two-leg play-off for a spot in France.

Khadija Shaw scored to give Jamaica the lead in the 13th minute, but Panama got a late equalizer from Natalia Mills in the 73rd to send the game to extra time. In the 95th minute, Jamaica took the lead on a goal by 16-year-old Jody Brown, but again Panama tied the match. Lineth Cedeño scored in 115th minute to send the game to penalty kicks.

Jamaica swapped goalkeepers for the shootout and the move paid off as Nicole McClure, who replaced Sydney Schneider, made two stops in the shootout. Jamaica sent all four of their penalties past Panama’s Yenith Bailey to book their spot in France.

After the game, Bailey was awarded the Golden Glove as the tournament’s best goalkeeper. Brown was named Best Young Player.

Eighteen of 24 countries have booked their tickets to France so far: Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China PR, England, France (host nation), Germany, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Korea Republic, Norway, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Thailand and the United States.

official nwsl sponsors
nike logo
thorne logo
lifetime logo
budweiser logo