What you need to know: FIFA Women’s World Cup Draw
The draw for the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup will take place on December 8
NWSL players from Australia, Brazil, Canada and the United States will be among those focused on Saturday's draw for the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup. (Photo credit: isiphotos.com)
NWSL players from Australia, Brazil, Canada and the United States will be among those focused on Saturday's draw for the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup. (Photo credit: isiphotos.com)

What you need to know for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup draw.



Saturday, December 8, at 12 p.m. ET, from Le Seine Musicale in Boulogne-Billancourt, France.


Where To Watch

For viewers in the United States, the draw will air on FS2, the Fox Sports app, Telemundo, Universo and the Telemundo Deportes En Vivo app. More details. Coverage on FS2 and the Fox Sports app begins at 11:30 a.m. ET, and users who subscribe to FS1 will be able to watch on the app, even if they don’t get FS2. Coverage on Telemundo and Universo, as well as the Telemundo Deportes En Vivo app will begin at 11:55 a.m. ET.

FIFA.com will also be streaming the draw, with certain restrictions depending on the user’s country.


How It Works

The twenty-four teams will be divided evenly across four pots, based on world rankings. The top six teams will be seeded into Pot 1, based on FIFA’s women’s world rankings, the next six teams will be in Pot 2, and then Pots 3 and 4 after that. Pot 1 will include host nation France, who are automatically assigned to Group A. As teams are drawn, they will be be added to groups alphabetically, Groups A through F. Pot 1 teams will be placed in the No. 1 position in those groups. When the draw is complete, each group will contain four teams.

The pots will be finalized when the final rankings are released on December 7. The teams currently set for Pot 1 are unlikely to change: Australia, Canada, England, France, Germany and the United States.

Other than countries from Europe, no two teams from the same confederation can be drawn into the same group. Europe has nine teams, so there is a minimum of one and a maximum of two European teams for the groups.

The current world rankings can be found on FIFA.com, and will be updated there on December 7. FIFA women’s world rankings

FIFA.com has a simulator that you can play now.


AFC: Australia, China PR, Japan, Korea Republic, Thailand

CAF: Cameroon, Nigeria, South Africa

UEFA: England, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Scotland, Spain, Sweden

Concacaf: Canada, Jamaica, United States

OFC: New Zealand

CONMEBOL: Argentina, Brazil, Chile

  • Seven teams have qualified for every Women’s World Cup: Brazil, Germany, Japan, Nigeria, Norway, Sweden, United States
  • Four teams are making their Women’s World Cup debuts: Chile, Jamaica, Scotland, South Africa
  • After just missing out in 2011, Italy is back at the Women’s World Cup for the first time since 1999.
  • Forward Khadija Shaw of Jamaica, currently a senior at the University of Tennessee, scored 19 goals in 12 games to lead all goal scorers in World Cup qualifying, in any confederation.
  • NWSL players will likely feature across many teams in France. Players who were named to Women’s World Cup qualifying rosters for Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, England, Japan, New Zealand, Nigeria, Scotland, South Africa and the United States all appeared on NWSL rosters in 2018.

FIFA Women’s World Cup History

In seven FIFA Women’s World Cups, four teams have won it all, and all four appear in the tournament once again. The United States leads the way with three titles: 1991, 1999, 2015. Germany has two: 2003 and 2007. Norway won in 1995 and Japan won in 2011. Brazil, China PR and Sweden have all finished as high as second. England’s best finish was third in 2015.

The only two active Women’s World Cup Golden Ball winners play in the NWSL: Carli Lloyd of Sky Blue FC, who won the honor in 2015 following her Women’s World Cup Final hat trick in the United States’ win, and Marta of the Orlando Pride, who won the Golden Ball and Golden Boot in 2007 to lead Brazil to the final. Marta is the all-time leading goal scorer in Women’s World Cup history.

Other winners of the award, which is given to the tournament’s best player, are retired legends Homare Sawa of Japan (2011), Birgit Prinz of Germany (2003), Sun Wen of China (1999), Hege Riise of Norway (1995) and Carin Jennings of the United States (1991).

Several other current NWSL players have achieved individual accolades at the Women’s World Cup. Caitlin Foord of Portland Thorns FC was named Young Player of the Tournament in 2011 after playing in her first World Cup at the age of 16. In 2015, Rumi Utsugi, Elise Kellond-Knight, Julie Ertz, Meghan Klingenberg, Carli Lloyd and Megan Rapinoe were named to the team of the tournament. Kellond-Knight was also named to the team in 2011. Marta was named to the team of the tournament in 2007 and 2011.

official nwsl sponsors
nike logo
thorne logo
lifetime logo
budweiser logo