NWSL Awards

NWSL Defender of the Year: Abby Erceg, North Carolina Courage

North Carolina Courage defender Abby Erceg has been named the 2018 NWSL Defender of the Year, the league announced Thursday. The award was voted on by club officials, players, media and fans. Erceg played every minute of the season, logging 2,340 total minutes in 26 games played. She anchored a Courage backline that set a league record for fewest goals allowed with 17 and earned 11 clean sheets. The Courage finished the regular season at 17-1-6 and went on to win the NWSL Shield and Championship -- not conceding a single goal in the playoffs.

Sep 26, 2018  |  0m 59s

game highlights
top plays
official nwsl sponsors
budweiser logo
CBS logo
Google logo
nike logo
P&G logo
secret logo
thorne logo
twitch logo
verizon logo